2017 Winners - Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards & AABC Conservation Awards

Posted on 13th December 2016 by Malcolm Hankey

We are delighted to be able to reveal the list of winning projects for the 2017 Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards and AABC Conservation Awards, which features 53 projects from a wide range of national and international entries. All schemes featured will receive an Award or Commendation with 5 Special Awards presented to schemes for excellence in specific areas.

The 58th Annual Civic Trust Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday 10th March 2017 at The Guildhall Winchester, supported by Winchester City Council. The event will be hosted by architect, writer, TV presenter and CTA Patron George Clarke and Civic Trust Awards Managing Director Malcolm Hankey.

Amongst the 2017 winners are:

  • Greenwich Housing - Greenwich (Greater London) by Bell Phillips Architects
  • Blackrock Quarry Training Centre - North Somerset (South West) by Haverstock
  • The Whitworth - Manchester (North West) by MUMA
  • Stihl Treetop Walkway - Gloucester (South West) by Glenn Howells
  • Sacred Heart Cathedral of Kericho - Kericho (Kenya) by John McAslan + Partners
  • Cardigan Castle - Ceredigion (Wales) by Purcell

Five Special Awards will also be given to winning projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas. The Special Awards are: 

  • National Panel Special Award - selected by National Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award winning projects
  • Special Award for Sustainability - sponsored by Derwent London and is presented to a project that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long term energy consumption.
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement - presented to a scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people
  • Pro Tem Special Award - presented to a temporary building, structure or space.
  • Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design sponsored by Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in recognition of architect and founding figure of universal design, Selwyn Goldsmith

For a complete list of the 53 winning projects for 2017, please CLICK HERE

Keep up to date with all the Civic Trust Awards news by following us on twitter @CTAwards

Categorised under: News