2019 Civic Trust Awards Winners Announced

Posted on 1st March 2019 by Malcolm Hankey

The Civic Trust Awards proudly celebrates its 60th Anniversary in 2019 and the Awards Ceremony was held on Friday 1st March at Imperial War Museum North, Manchester. The Ceremony was sponsored by Sir Robert McAlpine, who also commemorate their 150th Anniversary in 2019.

From 240 entries to the Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards schemes, after a rigorous multi-stage assessment process, 62 projects were rewarded, in addition to presenting 5 special awards.

Over the last six decades, the aim of the Civic Trust Awards hasn't waivered. Encouraging the very best in architecture, promoting improvements the built environment for us all through design, sustainability, inclusiveness and accessibility, but also rewarding projects that offer a positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefit to their local communities. The Civic Trust Awards has run continuously ever since, making it Europe’s longest running architectural and built environment awards programme. It is also one of this country’s most important and prestigious.

Amongst the 2019 winners are:

  • Gasholders London (Camden, London) by WilkinsonEyre 
  • LEGO House (Billund, Denmark) by BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group
  • The Borders Distillery (Scottish Borders, Scotland) by Gray Macpherson Architects
  • The Sill National Landscape Discovery Centre (Northumberland, North East) by Jane Darbyshire & David Kendall Ltd
  • Westminster Abbey Trifoirum Project, The Queen's Diamond Jubilee Galleries (Westminster, London) by Ptolemy Dean Architects Ltd, MUMA

Five Special Awards were presented to projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas:

  • National Panel Special Award: selected by National Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award winning projects - presented to Zeitz MOCAA (Cape Town,South Africa) by Heatherwick Studio, VDMMA, Rick Brown Associates, Jacobs Parker
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement: supported by Sir Robert McAlpine - a scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people - presented to Pálás (Galway, ROI) by Pálás Cinema, dePaor Architects
  • Special Award for Sustainability: sponsored by Derwent London - a project that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long term energy consumption - presented to Storey's Field Centre and Eddington Nursery (Cambridge, Eastern) by MUMA
  • Michael Middleton Special Award: presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area - Simon Sainsbury Centre, Cambridge Judge Business School (Cambridge,South East) by Stanton Williams
  • Special Award for Transportation & Infrastructure: presented to an exemplar scheme from the road, rail and air infrastructure sector - presented to London Bridge Station (Southwark, London) by Grimshaw

To commemorate the 60th Anniversary, an Outstanding Achievement Award was also presented to BDP.  As a long standing member and supporter of the scheme since its inception in 1959, BDP is the practice that has received the most number of Awards as lead architect. 73 of their projects have been succcessful, starting in 1963 with an Award for Bradshaw's Motor House Preston, followed by other notable schemes such as JP Morgan Headquarters in London in 1984, Royal Opera House Westminster 2002 and two awards in 2018 for Blackburn Meadows Biomass and the National Army Museum.

To download the complete list of winners, please CLICK HERE

Follow us on twitter @CTAwards @UnivDesignAward @CTAConservation

Please contact us via email to request images to support this press release info@civictrustawards.org.uk

Categorised under: News