Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

Keith Williams Appointed as Chair of National Panel

Posted on 4th March 2016

The Civic Trust Awards is delighted to have appointed the distinguished architect Keith Williams as Chair of the Civic Trust Awards National Panel.

Keith has been an integral part of the Civic Trust Awards Panel for several years and for the 2016 programme onwards, has taken over this important role from David Prichard of Metropolitan Workshop who has stood down after 11 years in the post.

Keith is the founder and director of design at London based Keith Williams Architects. Noted for his work on cultural and civic buildings such as the Unicorn Theatre, Wexford Opera House and the Novium Museum, Chichester his firm works internationally across a broad range of sectors and has received nearing 40 national and international design awards, including several Civic Trust Awards, for his work. Keith is a member of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, and a member of the Royal Institute of British Architects. He sits on numerous design review and awards panels, has lectured widely on architecture and his firm’s work, and in 2009 was made Honorary Visiting Professor of Architecture at Zhengzhou University, China.

Keith Williams said “The Civic Trust Award is the UK’s longest continuous architectural and urban design awards programme and it is both a pleasure and an honour to take over the chair of the National Panel. The Civic Trust Awards is one of the most important awards schemes in this country and I hope to maintain not only its ethos and its exemplary standards but also to broaden its international reach. David Pritchard has been an exceptional chair over many years and I am delighted that he wishes to remain on the Panel as I and the other panel members will continue to benefit from his wisdom, judgement and experience.

Malcolm Hankey, Managing Director of the Civic Trust Awards said “I would like to welcome Keith Williams to the position of Chair for the Civic Trust Awards National Panel. I’m sure he will continue the excellent work of former Chair David Prichard, who remains on the Panel. David has dedicated over 15 years to the Civic Trust Awards, firstly as an assessor and since 2004 as Chair.”