Levels of Awards

The Civic Trust Awards scheme annually recognise projects with Special Awards, Awards and Highly Commended.

We have 4 entry categories:

  • Civic Trust Awards (individual buildings/structures/spaces)
  • Civic Trust Awards Multi-Use Projects (multiple use classes on one site by the same practice)
  • Pro-Tem Awards (for temporary projects or installations)
  • AABC Conservation Awards

Projects can be entered separately into both the Civic Trust Awards and AABC Conservation Awards should all criteria requirements be met,

All schemes are considered on their own merit. Award winning projects are also considered for one of our Special Awards, such as Sustainability, Community Engagement, Reuse & Adaptation and Transportation & Infrastructure.

Awards - Projects that make an outstanding contribution to the quality and appearance of the built environment. Award level schemes demonstrate excellence in architecture or design, whilst being sustainable, accessible and provide a positive civic contribution.

Highly Commended - Projects that make a significant contribution to the quality and appearance of the built environment. Commendation level schemes demonstrate a good standard of architecture or design, whilst being sustainable, accessible and provide a positive civic contribution.

Pro Tem Awards/Highly Commended are given to temporary projects and installations 

AABC Conservation Awards/Highly Commended 

Established in 2014, the Civic Trust AABC Conservation Awards recognise projects which demonstrate the highest standards of historic building conservation.

Special Awards 

Presented to schemes which demonstrate excellence in a specific field. 

All projects of National/International winning standard are considered for each of the Special Awards by National Panel members who determine the individual winners.

2024 Special Awards:

National Panel Special Award - Selected by National Judging Panel Members as the exemplar scheme from the year’s Award-winning projects.

Special Award for Sustainability - Presented to an exemplar project, that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long-term energy consumption. Sponsored by Derwent London

Special Award for Reuse & Adaptation - Presented to an exceptional scheme that would otherwise be left to decay or be demolished to address present-day needs. The scheme should benefit the community and its users by maintaining its cultural heritage or restoring a culturally significant site, ensuring its viability for new uses and modern functions. Sponsored by EPR Architects

Special Award for Transportation & Infrastructure - Presented to an exceptional new or upgraded infrastructure project that has transformed the civic realm and has a demonstrable qualitative effect upon its context and environment. Sponsored by BlueLight Management

Special Award for Community Impact & Engagement - Presented to an exceptional scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people.

Michael Middleton Special Award - Presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area.

Selwyn Goldsmith Award/Highly Commended for Universal Design - Established in 2011, the Selwyn Goldsmith Awards for Universal Design is delivered in parallel with the Civic Trust Awards application process, with all CTA entries considered for the Selwyn Goldsmith Awards.

Winners are selected by a specially convened panel of universal design experts, with the announcement made at the Awards Ceremony in March each year.

The Selwyn Goldsmith Awards celebrate places that are responsive, flexible, welcoming, easy to use and occupy; allowing all to use with dignity and equality regardless of age, ethnicity, gender or ability. 

The Selwyn Goldsmith Awards (SGA) seek to promote and applaud those schemes which achieve this and exceed regulation.

To be considered for the SGA’s your project should have gone beyond the building regulations, as a minimum using best practice guidance, putting people at the heart of the project and showing exemplar design.