Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

AABC Conservation Award

Established in 2014, the AABC Conservation Awards are made to projects which demonstrate the highest standards of historic building conservation.

The care, conservation and adaptive re-use of historic buildings call for a variety of skills. These begin with understanding the significances of a historic building in whole and in its constituent parts. We then consider the identification of defects and the diagnosis of problems and functional deficiencies which leads to the development of an approach - a conservation philosophy appropriate to the specific circumstances of the project.

Works of repair, remediation and, where appropriate, adaptation which are both technically and philosophically sound are then formulated. These works are documented, contracts let and managed. Now the skills focus passes to the craftsmen and craftswomen who will execute the work, adding their knowledge and experience to the process. The not infrequent discovery of the unexpected calls for a collaborative response until all is successfully completed.

Entries must demonstrate this broad range of skills in an overall project description. Exceptional qualities of the entry can then be described. These may include conservation of the rare and fragile, subtle remediation of structural problems or careful adaptation to meet current needs, all securing the ongoing life and value of the building. We therefore seek the demonstration of virtuosic skills that will inspire others.

The AABC Conservation Panel is a representative group of experts who make the final decision on the level of awards to be given, ensuring national (and international) consistency. This year's Panel Members include Simon Malam, Neal Charlton, Dearbhail Keating, Neil Burton and Louise Priestman.

Recent winners include;

  • Worcestor Cathedral Undercroft Learning Centre by Acanthus Clews Architects
  • Wythenshawe Hall by Buttress
  • Quay Place - Regeneration of St Mary at the Quay, Ipswich by The Churches Conservation Trust with Molyneux Kerr Architects
  • Cardigan Castle, Ceredigion, Wales by Purcell
  • The Lion Salt Works, Northwich by Donald Insall Associates Ltd
  • CULLOMPTON The Walronds, Devon by benjamin+beauchamp architects
  • Hadlow Tower, Kent by Thomas Ford & Partners
  • King's Cross Station, Camden by John McAslan and Partners
  • Middleport Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Oxford University Museum of Natural History by Purcell
  • Wentworth Castle Glasshouses, Barnsley by Buttress