Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

Civic Trust Awards

The Civic Trust Awards is not just about rewarding architecture or design excellence.

We strongly believe that successful projects should also exhibit strong sustainability credentials, a high level of accessible and universal design, whilst also demonstrating how the project has provided a positive civic contribution. The Civic Trust Awards is unique and is recognised as the only 360 degree awards scheme in the world that promotes:

  • Excellence in architecture and design standards
  • Accessible and universal design
  • Positive community impact
  • Sustainable design & construction
  • Consultation with user groups
  • Innovation    
  • Social and economic renewal
  • Localism
  • Sustainable planning
  • Sensitive conservation and restoration
  • Designing in context
  • Variety of entries including temporary buildings and structures

Recognising and Rewarding Excellence

Since 1959, more than 7000 domestic and international projects have been recognised by the Civic Trust Awards. These range from small community projects to larger internationally recognised buildings, bridges, infrastructure, public realm and public art. All schemes submitted for consideration are judged on their own merits. The Civic Trust Awards is widely recognised within the industry as a mark of excellence for the architectural practice, the client, the developer and all organisations involved in the projects development and delivery.

Some past winners include Royal Festival Hall, London (Award 1967), M6 Motorway- Lancaster to Penrith Bypass (Award 1971), The Humber Bridge (Award 1982), Imperial War Museum North (Award 1991), Oxo Tower Wharf (Award 1998), The Scottish Parliament (Award 2006) and more recently The Longest Bench, Littlehampton (Award 2012), London 2012 Olympic Velodrome (Award 2013), Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red, Tower of London (Award 2015), dlrLexicon, Dublin (Award 2016) and Sacred Heart Cathedral of Kericho, Kenya (Award 2017).

Thousands of archiecture practices and organisations have been rewarded for their outstanding work, such as Atkins, Aecom, BDP, Denton Corker Marshall, Evans Vettori, John McAslan + Partners, Haverstock, Mecanoo architecten, C.F. Møller Architects, Architype, Keith Williams Architects, Grimshaw, AKTII, Glenn Howells Architects, Purcell, Studio Weave, Hugh Broughton Architects, Eric Parry Architects, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, Sutherland Hussey Harris, Bennetts Associates, ADP, EPR Architects, Nicholas Hare Architects, Faulkner Browns Architects, Knight Architects, Burd Haward Architects, BCA Landscape, Baart Harries Newall, Poole Phillips Associates and many more...

Promotion - Media Coverage

  • Press coverage of the Annual Award Winners (recognising projects and architects internationally)
  • Extensive coverage in trade, regional, national and international press
  • Additional coverage of winning schemes in local press (including print and radio)
  • Announcements on internationally recognised websites (such as Architects Journal and BD Online)
  • Email winners notification to 25,000 direct contacts on our database
  • Promotion on our active and regularly updated social media @CTAwards