Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

2020 Civic Trust Awards Winners Announced

Posted on 7th March 2020

The Civic Trust Awards proudly celebrates its 61st Anniversary in 2020 and the Awards Ceremony was held on Friday 6th March at Imperial War Museum North, Manchester.

From 250 entries to the Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards schemes, after a rigorous multi-stage assessment process, 58 projects were rewarded, in addition to presenting 4 special awards.

The aim of the Civic Trust Awards hasn't waivered. Encouraging the very best in architecture, promoting improvements the built environment for us all through design, sustainability, inclusiveness and accessibility, but also rewarding projects that offer a positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefit to their local communities. The Civic Trust Awards has run continuously ever since, making it Europe’s longest running architectural and built environment awards programme. It is also one of this country’s most important and prestigious.

Amongst the 2020 winners are:

  • Maggie's Cardiff by Dow Jones Architects
  • Senate of Canada Building by Diamond Schmitt Architects, KWC Architects & ERA Architects
  • The Painted Hall by Hugh Broughton Architects
  • US Embassy in London by KieranTimberlake
  • V&A Dundee by Kengo Kuma & Associates, Architects & James F Stephen Architects

Four Special Awards were presented to projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas:

  • National Panel Special Award: selected by National Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award winning projects - presented to Windermere Jetty Museum by Carmody Groarke
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement:a scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people - presented to Beacon of Light by FaulknerBrowns Architects 
  • Special Award for Sustainability: sponsored by Derwent London - a project that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long term energy consumption - presented to Cambridge Central Mosque by Marks Barfield Architects
  • Michael Middleton Special Award: presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area - Royal Opera House 'Open Up‘ by Stanton Williams

To download the complete list of winners, please CLICK HERE

Follow us on twitter @CTAwards @UnivDesignAward @CTAConservation

Please contact us via email to request images to support this press release