Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

2023 Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards & Selwyn Goldsmith Awards Winners

Posted on 9th January 2023

The Civic Trust Awards proudly celebrated its 64th Anniversary in 2023 with the Awards Ceremony held on Friday 31st March in The Great Hall of the Marshall Building at the London School of Economics and Political Science, London.

Winning projects were revealed for the 2023 Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards for Universal Design. Following a rigorous multi-stage assessment process, 62 projects were rewarded from over 250 national and international entries.

The Awards Ceremony saw 300 architects, council leaders and built environment professionals from all over the world come together to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those who have contributed to our communities through their exceptional work in architecture, urban design, planning, public realm and public art.

Since 1959, the Civic Trust Awards have become an important platform to recognise the very best in the built environment. We are proud to be honouring this year's winners who have demonstrated excellence and innovation in their respective fields. Their work has not only enriched our physical environment but has also helped to create a better sense of place and identity for our communities.

Amongst the 2023 winners are:

  • Annesley Gardens, Dublin, Ireland by Metropolitan Workshop for Seabren Development
  • Compton & Edrich Stands, Lord's Cricket Ground, Westminster, London by WilkinsonEyre for MCC
  • First Light Pavilion Visitor's Centre, Cheshire, North West by Hassell & Casson Mann for University of Manchester
  • Kathleen Andrews Transit Garage (KATG), Edmonton, Canada by gh3*
  • Olderfleet, Melbourne, Australia by Grimshaw for Mirvac
  • The Bowline at Bowling Harbour, West Dunbartonshire by rankinfraser landscape architecture for Scottish Canals

Six Special Awards were presented to schemes which demonstrate excellence in a specific field.  All projects of National/International award-winning standard are considered for each of the Special Awards by National Judging Panel members who determine the individual winners.

National Panel Special Award selected by National Judging Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award-winning projects: The Marshall Building, London School of Economics and Political Science, Westminster, Greater London by Grafton Architects for London School of Economics and Political Science.

The Special Award for Sustainability sponsored by Derwent London presented to an exemplar project, that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long-term energy consumption: Lyth Building, Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham, East Midlands by Evans Vettori Architects for Nottingham Trent University

Special Award for Reuse & Adaptation sponsored by EPR Architects presented to a scheme that would otherwise be left to decay or be demolished to address present-day needs: Andermatt Concert Hall, Andermatt, Switzerland by Studio Seilern Architects for Andermatt Swiss Alps, BESIX and Orascom.

Special Award for Transportation & Infrastructure sponsored by BlueLight Management presented to an exceptional new or upgraded major infrastructure project that has transformed the civic realm and has a demonstrable qualitative effect upon its context and environment: Paddington Elizabeth Line Station and Woolwich Elizabeth Line Station, Greater London by Weston Williamson + Partners for Transport for London.

Michael Middleton Special Award presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area: The Burrell Collection, Glasgow, Scotland by John McAslan + Partners for Glasgow Life.

Special Award for Community Impact & Engagement presented to an exemplar project that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people: Glade of Light, Manchester, North West by BCA Landscape for Manchester City Council.

To download the complete list of winners, please CLICK HERE

Follow us on twitter @CTAwards @UnivDesignAward @CTAConservation

Please contact us via email to request images if you would like to issue a press release