Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

2024 Civic Trust Awards Ceremony

Posted on 22nd March 2024

The Civic Trust Awards proudly celebrated its 65th Anniversary with the Awards Ceremony held on Friday 22nd March at The Concorde Conference Centre, Altrincham.

Over 320 projects were entered from across the UK, Canada, France, Germany, Lithuania, Malta, Poland and USA, reflecting the schemes continuing international reach. Following a rigorous assessment process, 140 projects were recognised as Regional Finalists and from these, 68 were presented with National/International Awards or were Highly Commended by the Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards for Universal Design. 

The Awards Ceremony saw 350 architects, council leaders and built environment professionals from all over the world come together to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those who have contributed to our communities through their exceptional work in architecture, urban design, planning, public realm and public art.

Since 1959, the Civic Trust Awards have become an important platform to recognise the very best in the built environment. We are proud to be honouring this year's winners who have demonstrated excellence and innovation in their respective fields. Their work has not only enriched our physical environment but has also helped to create a better sense of place and identity for our communities.

Amongst the 2024 winners are:

  • 20-23 Greville Street, Camden, Greater London by Groupwork
  • Clifford's Tower, York, Yorkshire by Hugh Broughton Architects & Martin Ashley Architects
  • Croft 3, Isle of Mull, Scotland by fardaa
  • Gainsborough's House, Babergh, Eastern by ZMMA
  • Hay Castle, Powys, Wales by MICA Architects
  • Hope Street, Southampton, South West by Snug Architects
  • REWE Green Farming, Wiesbaden, Germany by ACME
  • Hardwick Old Hall, Chesterfield, East Midlands by Donald Insall Associates
  • Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings, Shropshire, West Midlands by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

In addition, 6 highly coveted Special Awards were given to schemes which have demonstrated truly outstanding work in a specific field. All projects of National/International award-winning standard were considered for each of the Special Awards by National Judging Panel members who determined the individual winners.

National Panel Special Award: Selected by National Judging Panel Members as the exemplar scheme from the year’s Award-winning projects - New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects for The White Eagle Lodge.

Special Award for Sustainability: Presented to an exemplar project, that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long-term energy consumption. Sponsored by Derwent London - New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects for The White Eagle Lodge

Special Award for Reuse & Adaptation: Presented to an exceptional scheme that would otherwise be left to decay or be demolished to address present-day needs. The scheme should benefit the community and its users by maintaining its cultural heritage or restoring a culturally significant site, ensuring its viability for new uses and modern functions. Sponsored by EPR Architects - Tower Hamlets Town Hall by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for London Borough of Tower Hamlets.

Special Award for Education: Presented to an exemplar education building which inspires creativity, independence, and a love of learning. Designed to nurture the intellectual, physical, social, and emotional development of students and to meet and exceed the needs of staff. Sponsored by BlueLight Management - Alfreton Park School by Curl la Tourelle Head Architecture for Derbyshire County Council

Special Award for Community Impact & Engagement: Presented to an exceptional scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people - Roundhouse Works by Paddy Dillon Architects with Reed Watts Architects for Roundhouse Trust

Michael Middleton Special Award: Presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area - Bokšto Skveras by Studio Seilern Architects and UAB Archinova for Baltisches Haus

To download the complete list of winners, please CLICK HERE

Follow us on X: @CTAwards
Instagram, Facebook & LinkedIn: civictrustawards 

Please contact us via email to request images if you would like to issue a press release 

For promotional and social media purposes, winners logo's can be downloaded from links below

Civic Trust Award

Civic Trust Highly Commended

ProTem Highly Commended

Selwyn Goldsmith Award

Selwyn Goldsmith Highly Commended

AABC Conservation Award

AABC Conservation Highly Commended