Skip to main content
Civic Trust Awards

79 Projects in line to receive an Award, Commendation or Community Recognition

Posted on 20th January 2014

The list of winning projects for the 2014 Civic Trust Awards has been revealed and features 79 projects from a wide range of national and international entries.

All schemes featured will receive an Award, Commendation or Community Recognition with 8 Special Awards presented to schemes for excellence in specific areas. 

2014 Civic Trust Awards Finalists

The 55th Annual Civic Trust Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday 7th March at The Winter Gardens Blackpool, supported by Blackpool Council and The Winter Gardens Trust. The event will be hosted by architect, writer and TV presenter George Clarke and Civic Trust Awards Managing Director Malcolm Hankey.

Amongst the 2014 winners are:

  • Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Antarctica by Hugh Broughton Architects
  • Metropol Parasol Seville (Spain) by J. MAYER H. Architects
  • Creative Arts Hub, Norwich (Eastern) BDP
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford (South East) by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Scale Lane Bridge, Kingston-upon-Hull (Yorkshire & Humberside) by McDowell+Benedetti
  • The Shed, City of London (Greater London) by Haworth Tompkins
  • Medieval Museum, Waterford (ROI) by ROJO studio & Waterford City Council Architects

Six Special Awards will also be given to Award winning projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas. The Special Awards are:

  • National Panel Special Award
  • Special Award for Sustainability
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement
  • The Michael Middleton Special Award - a memorial to former Director of the Civic Trust, Michael Middleton OBE, presented to a conservation project or new build within a conservation area.
  • Special Award for Scotland supported by Glasgow City Council & The City of Edinburgh Council
  • Pro Tem Special Award presented to an exemplar temporary building, structure or space sponsored by Metropolitan Workshop
  • Special Award for Brick presented to an exemplar project that has demonstrated excellence in overall design and construction utilising brick sponsored by Derwent London

Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design

The Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design is given in recognition of architect and founding figure of universal and accessible design, Selwyn Goldsmith. The shortlist and winning recipient of this Award was selected by a specially convened panel of universal design experts including Selwyn’s wife Becky, who will present the Award to the winning scheme at the Ceremony on 7th March.

The five projects on the shortlist for the Selwyn Goldsmith Universal Design Award are:

  • Giant's Causeway Visitor Centre, Moyle (Northern Ireland) by Heneghan Peng Architects
  • Ironmonger Row Baths, Islington (Greater London) Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth (South East) by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Splashpoint Leisure Centre, Worthing (South East) by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Timber Lodge and Tumbling Bay Playground, Newham (Greater London) by London Legacy Development Corporation

CLICK HERE for a complete list of all 79 winning projects for 2014

2014 Regional Finalists

These projects were considered to be of merit at a regional level by our local assessor teams - to view the list of 2014 Regional Finalists, please click the link below:

CLICK HERE to view a list of 2014 Regional Finalists.